VIVA! YEAR’S OUTLINE: 2017-18 Season – Draft #13 – December 7, 2017

 

This outline is available on the website at all times.

Please make a note of all your child’s rehearsal times, concerts and mandatory dress rehearsals.

We appreciate your commitment!

 

VIVA!’s Choirs:

Preparatory Chorus – Conductor: Susan Suchard (ages 4-6)

Junior Choir – Conductor: Laura Menard (ages 6+)

Main Chorus – Conductor: Carol Woodward Ratzlaff (ages 9+)

Chamber Choir (SATB) – Conductors: Carol Woodward Ratzlaff and Brad Ratzlaff

VIVA! Community Choir/ECS Core Members – Carol Woodward Ratzlaff and Brad Ratzlaff

 

Monday Rehearsal Times:

Sign in for Preps in the Circle Room from 4:30 to 4:45 – Pickup Snack Bags and hand in Forms in the Studio

Sign in for Junior in the Studio from 4:30 to 4:45

Preparatory Chorus Rehearsal 4:45 to 5:45

Junior Choir Rehearsal 4:45-6 pm (Includes Junior Choir Theory Program)

Sign in for Main Chorus in the Studio from 5:15 to 5:30

Main Chorus Rehearsal 5:30 to 7:30 in the Studio from 5:30 – ending in the Chapel

(Theory Program will be delivered within the context of Main Chorus rehearsal.

Chamber members who participate in Theory classes will arrange to join Main Chorus Theory at 6:40 pm)

VIVA! Community Choir/ECS Core Members Rehearsal 7:30 to 8:45 in the Chapel and Gym

 

Sunday Rehearsal Times:

Chamber Choir Rehearsal 2:00-3:30 in the Chapel

 

 

Wed August 30 – Auditions for the 2017-18 Season

 

Sat Sept 9 – Final Auditions for Term One

 

Sun Sept 10 – 2 pm to 7 pm Meeting & Pot Luck for All Staff in the Gym – 2 to 5 pm; Inclusion TAs only – 5 to 7 pm

 

Mon Sept 11 – First Rehearsal for Prep Chorus, Junior Choir and Main Chorus – Theory Assessments

 

Mon Sept 11 – Parent Meetings

4:45pm-5:30 pm – All Parent Information Meeting #1 with Artistic Director and the Board Chair in Jeanne Lamon Hall (Sanctuary)

OR – 7:10 to 7:30 – Main Chorus Parent Information Meeting #2 with Artistic Director, the Board Chair and the Manager – Main Chorus, Chamber Choir Parents and Community Choir members are encouraged to attend Meeting #2 – in the Chapel

 

Sun Sept 17 – First rehearsal for Chamber Choir

Mon Sept 18 – Rehearsals for all choirs (first rehearsal for Community Choir) – Last day to sign up for Private Voice Lessons – Vocal Coaching Begins

Sun Sept 24 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Sept 25 – Regular Rehearsals – Private Voice Lessons begin

Sun Oct 1 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Oct 2 – Regular Rehearsals

Sun Oct 8 and Mon Oct 9 – Thanksgiving – No Rehearsals

Sun Oct 15 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Oct 16 – Regular Rehearsals – Camp Forms Due

Sun Oct 22 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon October 23 – Regular Rehearsals – and 6 pm Camp Meeting for Junior and Main Parents – Nutcracker contracts due

 

Friday Oct 27 – 5 pm Meet in the Gym for Bus Pickup for Camp

 

Friday to Sunday – Oct 27, 28 and 29Annual Performing Arts Camp in Jackson’s Point, ON for Junior Choir, Main Chorus and TAs

 

Sun Oct 29 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon October 30 –Regular Rehearsals for Everyone except Junior Choir

 

Sun Nov 5 – 2 to 3pm Rehearsal – Chamber Choir and Community Choir/ECS

3:30 pm Concert – The Chamber/Community/ECS Choirs present a 45 minute Peace Concert. Donations at the door.  All VIVA families are invited. This will be a silent concert.  (No applause)

 

Mon Nov 6 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sat Nov 11 – 1:30 to 2:30 Junior Theory Help Session #1 and Main Theory Catch-up in the VIVA! Office

 

Sun Nov 12 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Sunday Nov 12 – 3:30 to 4:30 in the Chapel – First Nutcracker Rehearsal for all Nutcracker Singers

 

Mon Nov 13 – Regular Rehearsals – Prep/Junior Opt-In/Out forms due for Carols by Candlelight

 

Sun Nov 19 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir – CANCELLED – Santa Claus Parade

 

Sunday Nov 19 – 3:30 to 4:30 in the Chapel – Nutcracker Rehearsal for all Nutcracker Singers

 

Mon Nov 20 – Regular Rehearsals and 5:30 to 6 pm Junior Orff Showcase, Prep Chorus and Parents attend

 

Friday Nov 24 – Main Chorus Laserquest Night – 6:30 pm 

 

Sun Nov 26 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Sunday Nov 26 – 3:30 to 4:30 in the Chapel – Nutcracker Rehearsal for all Nutcracker Singers

 

Mon Nov 27 – Regular Rehearsals – Main Chorus Parents Invited to Attend Rehearsal – 6:15 to 7 pm

 

Sun Dec 3 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Sunday Dec 3 – 3:30 to 4:30 in the Chapel – Nutcracker Rehearsal for all Nutcracker Singers; Nutcracker Parent Meeting 4:30 pm in the Chapel

 

Mon Dec 4 – Regular Rehearsals – and Poinsettia Fundraiser Pickup in the Narthex (the Lobby at Trinity St. Paul’s)

 

Thursday Dec 7 – Nutcracker Orchestra Rehearsal (for all Nutcracker Singers – mandatory rehearsal) – 10 am to 1 pm at the Four Season’s Centre

 

Sun Dec 10 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Dec 11 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sunday Dec 17 – Carols by Candlelight Concert –7pm Concert – 6 pm call time for Main Chorus, Community Choir – Call time for participating Preps and Juniors 6:30. FREE

 

No Rehearsals for the rest of December

 

 

Nutcracker Performances (between Dec. 8 and Dec. 30)

& Happy Holidays!

2018

 

Friday Jan 5 – 11:30 to 1:30 pm – Conductors’ Meeting (not for TAs)

 

Saturday Jan 6 – Auditions for new singers for Term 2

 

Mon Jan 8 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sun Jan 14 Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Mon Jan 15 – Regular Rehearsals – Last day to sign up for Term 2 Private Voice Lessons

 

Saturday Jan 20 – A new audition day – Auditions for new singers for Term 2

 

Sun Jan 21 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Jan 22 – Regular Rehearsals – No Vocal Coaching or Voice Lessons

 

Friday Jan 26Mandatory Dress Rehearsal for All – 5 to 7 pm in Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity St. Paul’s

 

Saturday Jan 27 The Time of Snow Concert for All – 5:30 call for 6:30 concert in Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity St. Paul’s

 

Term Two:

 

Sun Jan 28 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Jan 29 – Regular Rehearsals – Private Voice Lessons Begin – Vocal Coaching begins

 

Sun Feb 4 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Feb 5 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Fri Feb 9 to 13 – Alberta Exchange for a small group from Main Chorus

 

Sun Feb 11 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon Feb 12 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sun Feb. 18 and Mon 19 – Family Day – No rehearsals

 

Sun Feb 25 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Sunday Feb 25 – 2 pm to 4 pm in the Studio – Junior Theory Help Session #2

 

Mon Feb 26 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Saturday March 3 – 4 to 6:30 pm – Bowlathon Fundraiser – Each bowler raises a minimum of $50 in pledges – Pizza, Prizes and Fun for All! – at Bathurst Bowlerama

 

Sun March 4 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir – Chamber Choir Photo

Mon March 5 – Regular Rehearsals & Photo Day – All wear VIVA! uniforms

 

Mon March 11 and Sun March 12 – March Break – School Holiday- NO Rehearsals

 

Sun March 18 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon March 19 – Regular Rehearsals – NO Private Voice Lessons

 

Sun March 25 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon March 26 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Wed March 287 to 8 pm Pergolesi Main Chorus and 7 to 9 pm Chamber Choir

 

Thurs March 297pm Orchestral Dress Rehearsal for Pergolesi (Main Chorus and Chamber Choir)

 

Friday March 30 – 2 pm call for 3 pm – Good Friday Choral Concert. Pergolesi, Stabat Mater:  MacMillan, Cantos Sagrados:  Balfour, Take The Indian. Presented by The Choir of Trinity-St. Paul’s United Church with guests: VIVA! Youth Singers of Toronto (Main Chorus and Chamber Choir) and Oakville Choir for Children and Youth.

– Concert is just over one hour long.

 

Sun April 1 and Mon April 2 – School Holiday: (Easter & Passover) – NO rehearsals

 

Saturday April 7 – Junior Treble Festival in St. Catharines at the Performing Arts Centre – Main Chorus and older Junior Choir Singers – load the bus at 7:30 am – return to TSP after the concert circa 10:15 pm

 

Sun April 8 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Sun April 8 – 3:30 pm Conductor’s Meeting

Mon April 9 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sun April 15 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Mon Apr 16 – Regular Rehearsals

Sun April 22 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Mon April 23 – Regular Rehearsals – Bring a Friend to Choir Day and 5:30 to 6 pm Prep/Junior Orff Showcase– Parents invited to attend

 

Sat April 28Early Auditions for 2018/19 Season

 

Sun April 29 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon April 30 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sun May 6 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Mon May 7 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Wednesday May 9 Annual Fundraising Dinner Gala – Chamber Choir Performs

 

Sun May 13 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

 

Mon May 14 – Regular Rehearsals

 

Sun May 20 and Mon May 21 – Victoria Day – NO Rehearsals

 

Sun May 27 – Rehearsal – Chamber Choir

Sun May 27 – 3:30 to 4:30 pm Solo Recital for all students taking Private Voice Lessons from VIVA!

Mon May 28 – Regular Rehearsals – no Vocal Coaching

 

Friday June 1Mandatory Dress Rehearsal for All – 5 to 7 pm in Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity St. Paul’s

 

Saturday June 2Magnetic North Concert for All – 5:30 call for 6:30 pm concert in Jeanne Lamon Hall, Trinity St. Paul’s

 

Monday June 4 – 4:30 to 6:30 pm in the Studio- Junior Theory Help Session #3

 

Saturday June 9 – Auditions for 2018-19 Season

 

Friday June 15 – 2nd Annual June Garden Party Fundraiser at Carol’s home – limit of 40 tickets available

 

Thursday June 21 – Conductor’s Meeting

 

 

Happy Holidays!